with the participation of Civil Engineering faculties from non-European countries


Prague – Palach Square

The Fifth AECEF Board Meeting

The Fifth AECEF Board Meeting was held at the Technical University of Budapest, Hungary, in May 22-24, 1998.

Professor Jiří Witzany, the AECEF President, Professor B.I.G.Barr, Professor Ákos Detreköi, Professor Manfred Federau, Professor Ralph M.Francis, Professor J.M.P.F.Lemos, Professor P.Vainiunas, Professor K.S.Virdi, and Dr,Jiří Váška, Secretary-General, attended the Meeting. Professor Ladislav Lamboj, Dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, CTU Prague, Professor György Farkas, Dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, TU Budapest, and Professor Lovas Antal, Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering TU Budapest participated at the Meeting sessions as observers.

The Agenda of the Meeting included:

All Agenda items were discussed in details. The most important conclusions of the Meeting are presented in this Newsletter.

The participants of the Fifth AECEF Board Meeting were received by Professor Ákos Detreköi, Rector of the Technical University and members of the University Board for discussion about problems of civil engineering education. They had also the opportunity to visit the Technical University of Budapest and laboratories of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, and discuss there teaching and research activities in the field of Civil Engineering.

Dr.Jiří Váška,

AECEF new members
Prepared by Dr. Jiří Váška

Department of Civil and Building Engineering, Loughborough University, (UK) has been accepted as a new member of the AECEF.

The academic staff of the Department cover virtually all the disciplines within the construction industry. The full-time academic staff consists of

5 Professors
3 Readers
7 Senior Lecturers
18 Lecturers
1 Technical Tutor
3 Teaching Assistants

Support staff are 1 Systems Manager
2 Computer Assistants
16 Technicians

The Department has one visiting Professor (from industry) and a Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professorship in Engineering Design

The Department is housed in a main teaching block consisting of staff offices, research rooms, lecture and tutorial rooms, computer rooms (undergraduate and postgraduate) and a workroom.

The Department has a well-equipped laboratory building of over 2,000 m2 floor area. It contains laboratory space for Structures, Materials, Geotechnics, Water Engineering and Building Services Engineering activities.


The Department runs the following undergraduate programmes (with current student populations)

BEng/MEng Civil Engineering (254)
BEng/MEng Building Services Engineering (23)
BSc Construction Engineering Management (72)
BSc Commercial Management and Quantity Surveying (102)

These programmes are accredited by the Institution of Civil Engineers/Institution of Structural Engineers, Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers, Institute of Energy, Chartered Institute of Building and the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors.

All programmes include a twelvemonth industrial placement. The civil engineering and building services programmes are also offered without such a placement.

Postgraduate programmes are

MSc Construction Management (full-time and part-time) (15)
MSc Construction Project Management (full-time and part-time) (10)


Research work in the Department is carried out within eight cognate groupings. These are

Building (3 academic staff)
Building Services Engineering (6 staff)
Construction Management (5 staff)
Geotechnics (3 staff)
Land Surveying (2 staff)
Quantity Surveying (4 staff)
Structures and Materials (6 staff)
Water Engineering (3 staff)

The Department organises a regular programme of seminars and each group co-ordinates its own research publicity. There are currently 52 students registered for research degrees and six post-doctoral research assistants.

In the 1996 Research Assessment Exercise the Department made separate returns under Unit of Assessment 28 (Civil Engineering) and Unit of Assessment 33 (Built Environment), gaining ratings of 4 and 5 respectively.

The Department’s total research income for the financial year 1996/97 was GBP 2.044M from Research Councils, Public Bodies, Industry and the European Union.


Academic Programmes

Each programme has assigned a Tutor with single-point responsibility for managing its operation. The overall management of the programmes is co-ordinated by the Department’s Teaching and Learning Committee, consisting of the Programme Tutors, the Departmental Quality Co-ordinator and chaired by the Head of Department. This Committee meets at least twice a year.

In 1997 the Department formed a Teaching Enhancement Team (TET) from the Head of Department, the Quality Co-ordinator, one Programme Tutor and one other member of staff. The primary objective of the Team is to provide a focus for strategic issues in Teaching and Learning: in particular


Co-ordination of Research support in the Department is carried out by a Research Committee consisting of one representative from each group, and chaired by the Head of Department. The Research Co-ordinator is responsible for all administrative matters relating to postgraduate research students. The Committee is primarily concerned with pan-Departmental issues such as the organisation of seminars, displays and publicity material, and the allocation of studentships.


Financial administration support to the Head of Department is given by a finance Director, supported by a Finance Committee which has representation from the each of the major departmental groupings.

The Department receives income from the University via a formulaic basis. In the financial year 1996/97 this amounted to GBP 1.9M, of which GBP 228k was available for non-pay expenditure. An overall budget for this expenditure is drawn annually by the Head of Department and the Finance Director and presented to the first staff meeting of the academic year. Individual budget heads are delegated to members of staff to control.

The Department receives an allocation for capital expenditure (GBP 53k direct to the Department in 1997/98). Staff submit bids to a Departmental Finance Committee which ranks the applications and makes recommendations to the Head of Department on equipment to be purchased.

At the AECEF, the Department of Civil and Building Engineering of Loughborough University is represented by Mr.Roger H. MAYO. The address of the Department is as follows:

Department of Civil and Building Engineering
Loughborough University,
Loughborough Leicestershire LE11 3TU (UK)

Return to the page "AECEF"